• Last Updated:
  • Aug 12th, 2021 6:47 pm
[OP]
Mar 31, 2020
273 posts
185 upvotes
Greater Toronto Area

Best ways to travel from Toronto to Montreal

Suggestions, please? My planned travel dates, fwiw, is mid/late-second week (12/13) to early/mid-third week (17/18) August. A pity I couldn't have clarity on the dates until late evening yesterday.

I am new to Canada, and slowly hoping to travel again. I notice Air Transat and Porter aren't operational yet. For the price Air Canada is quoting, I'd rather fly to Europe or the U.S.

I'd love to take the train, but I see VIA doesn't offer the best rates either.

Annnddd I am reading some not-so-positive reviews about Megabus (and Greyhound have shut down).

Curious to learn what options people have explored in the recent past. Appreciate your time and thoughts.
If all the world's a stage, then where is my audience?
15 replies
Deal Fanatic
Sep 29, 2005
6478 posts
1606 upvotes
Montreal
People I know regularly use the train if they don't drive.
You can get to Montreal in about 4 hours if you choose an express trip that isn't a milk run.

If you don't have a car, it might be cheaper to rent one and drive the 401 east. It shouldn't take more than 5.5 hours to do the drive.
The only problem is that the drive between Toronto and Montreal is pretty boring.
Phils
[OP]
Mar 31, 2020
273 posts
185 upvotes
Greater Toronto Area
Thank you, @Phils!

Ah yes, driving - my old enemy... I agree though that this would be a good way to "overcome" my difficulty (lets just say I get the yips when I drive), but not quite ready to experiment given the distance!

On that note, did a quick search too: sucks that most of these rentals are all sold out for the days I'm trying to book (I do assume they will allow pick-up here in YYZ and drop-off, same day, in YUL).

Any bus services other than Megabus? And is Megabus really that awful?
Last edited by kartnite on Aug 2nd, 2021 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Deal Expert
Feb 7, 2017
23591 posts