• Last Updated:
  • Apr 19th, 2020 5:11 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Jan 18, 2020
25 posts
57 upvotes

Book Keeping software?

What book keeping software do you guys use for your e-commerce business? I'm looking for something that works with Woocommerce as well as all the big market places (Amazon/Ebay)

I've been looking at Quick Books, does anyone have any experiences to share what program they're using?
3 replies
Oct 8, 2010
191 posts
43 upvotes
Always start by asking your accountant. They might already have a suggestion and preference to get things done faster. If you get something they are not familiar with, you might not get direct support from them or have them help you clean up incorrect transactions etc. At the end of the day, all software will have the reports you need to PDF them over to your accountant.

I always recommend QB. I have been using it for over 10 years and many of my business friends as well. The online version seems easier to use and has a lot more ways to integrate with other apps. Setup a trial and give it a spin. Before signing up, search for discount codes or call in to order. The agents are very quick to give discounts.

It really depends what type of detail you want. With QB you can separate each department of sales into "classes" which would be Amazon, eBay, website etc. You can expense purchases against those classes. Then you can run reports, see which one is doing better than the other. It also depends on the amount of items you are selling. With QB you can keep it simple but if you also want to track lots of detail, keep track of inventory etc. then you have that option too.

I understand QB inside and out. I maximize on features most people don't bother with to get the best out of it. There are some people here that use other programs who will chime in. Just take them all for a spin and see which one you feel more comfortable with.

Hope that info helps.
Apr 24, 2015
50 posts
65 upvotes
Lancaster Park, AB