Cell Phones

Bought a "Global rom" Oneplus 7 Pro, should I feel bad?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 13th, 2019 3:37 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Dec 27, 2008
401 posts
272 upvotes

Bought a "Global rom" Oneplus 7 Pro, should I feel bad?

I've been eyeing the Oneplus 7 Pro for a couple of months because the reviews are good and I wanted a phone without a notch because I simply cannot tolerate the notch or the hole punch or anything like that.

So anyway last Friday I got really frustrated with my Galaxy S7 and I decided to order the 7 Pro. Perhaps timing is a bit off with the T version coming out but I couldn't wait anymore. I found it from a retailer called Swiftronics and I bought it directly from them (they also sell through bestbuy and newegg at a higher price). I then quickly discovered that it's a different version from the one that can be purchased from the official Oneplus website. I didn't know this was a thing, and as far as I can tell their website makes absolutely no mention of this. I saved something like $170 at the time since I also save a lot on taxes (and now $120 because the official website is running a sale).

There are a couple of downsides. I didn't expect that I wouldn't have a warranty for one but I'm fine gambling on that. However, I'm more worried about the fact that apparently the OS was flashed on possibly by Swiftronics, and now I'm wondering if this could lead to issues in the future with updates. Does anyone have any experience with these?

I'm experiencing a bit of buyer's remorse now, hoping that I had bought the phone from the official source with the official American ROM.
8 replies
Aug 17, 2018
699 posts
482 upvotes
Im guessing its similar to the ones on aliexpress so you should be ok. As for warrenty I wouldn't worry much as you probably get another phone in about 2 years anyways. Be happy with your purchase.
[OP]
Dec 27, 2008
401 posts
272 upvotes
Alright cool. That being said I do try to stretch out phones beyond the 2 years mark for the most part.