• Last Updated:
  • Dec 24th, 2019 6:24 pm
[OP]
Dec 18, 2019
5 posts

Which boxing day laptop to buy? Asus vivobook VS asus aspire 55

Which laptop is worth my money?
I've narrowed down to 2 laptops

Both are from a boxing day preview flyer from Best Buy in Ontario. First one is $300 off and second is $250 off.
I am a recent graduate and now commercial real estate agent and use my computer for long hours in my office, usually plugged in. Looking for a laptop 600-1000$.

REG $949, BOXING DAY $649
ASUS VivoBook 15.6" Laptop - Grey (Intel Core i5-10210U/512GB SSD/12GB RAM/Windows 10)
https://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/as ... 0/13974642

REG $1100, BOXING DAY PRICE $849.
Acer Aspire 5 15.6" Laptop - Silver (Intel Core i7-10510U/512GB SSD/16GB RAM/Windows 10)
https://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/ac ... 0/13978137

PLEASE HELP
- is the extra ram,
- better intel,
- backlit keyboard,
- and maybe extra battery life worth the extra money?
Cheaper one does have 32 gb intel optane.

Trying to learn computer stuff here lol.
12 replies
[OP]
Dec 18, 2019
5 posts
Or other recommendations with similar specs and price!
Thanks!
Feb 8, 2018
2 posts
2 upvotes
Yesterday I went to best buy and take a look at this Acer 5 laptop. No doubt at least I am unable to find a similar spec laptop in this price range. However I noticed two draw backs on this Acer (if these two things not bothering you, I guess you will be happy with your purchase)

1. The build quality was not strong ( I pressed the area where you rest your palm and it was bending) similar pressure I applied to other laptop (e.g. Lenovo, Dell, HP and they were not bending at all).
2. Sound Quality was not great.

Other than these two issues I don't find any-other problems. Everything was great. Off-course I didn't test the battery life etc. However I run some stress test software and, it run very well. Also the 4K video was running nicely.
[OP]
Dec 18, 2019
5 posts
Ahh good to know.
I’m still undecided, but I got time.