• Last Updated:
  • Dec 10th, 2012 12:07 pm
[OP]
Mar 10, 2011
349 posts
108 upvotes
Edmonton

Bringing up raises

I started a gig as an assistant controller at the beginning of this month. The employment contract stated that after 6 months my salary would be reviewed.

From doing some payroll functions I uncovered that my predecessor was making 10K more than I am now. My predecessor was with the organization for 3 years before he left. He left because my organization would not finance his CMA designation. In the interview my boss told me they would not finance my designation either.

In 6 months would it be unreasonable for me to ask for the same pay as my predecessor? (essentially a 10K raise). I don't want to come off as being greedy, but I also want to be fairly compensated since I will be doing the exact same roles and responsibilities as him. I am not sure how much experience he had, but I have about 2 years of experience (co-op/summer jobs) and 1 year post graduate at an accounting firm.
32 replies
Nov 11, 2008
59 posts
4 upvotes
Yes it likely would be considered unreasonable. Your predecessor got to that salary after adding three years worth of raises to whatever he started with. So essentially you would be asking to be compensated similarly to an employee with three years of on the job experience at six months employment. Your three years of prior experience, especially considering two years of it is co-op/summer jobs, isn't comparable to your predecessor's three years in the assistant controller role.

I can see why you would consider it unfair when you have the same R&Rs as your predecessor, but what I've outlined above is how your employer will see it.
Deal Addict
Jun 29, 2009
2307 posts
213 upvotes
Toronto
Unless you are proving to be a stellar performer so quickly in your new job, 10k raise is A LOT. Especially given that you have very little experience