Build second floor on bungalow

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 16th, 2021 10:18 am
[OP]
Apr 11, 2021
5 posts

Build second floor on bungalow

Hello guys - newbie here
Wanted some advice. we've outgrown our bungalow and was thinking about moving. Seeing how crazy the RE market is, building up seems like an interesting idea. But not sure where to start, which builder to trust, how much this would costs etc? Can you guys shed some light?

Current situation 1000 sq raised bungalow sitting on 60x140 lot.
Looking to build second floor approx 650-700 sq ft. 3 bedrooms and 2 washrooms and laundry room. - nothing to big.

Questions
1. Is building up on a 1950 bungalow a good idea, bad, crazy?
2. Any recommendation on builders who do this kind of work?
3. What am I looking at based on cost? i dont even know where to start? is it half a million? few hundred thousand?
4. any other watchouts?

thanks
17 replies
Sep 18, 2008
858 posts
207 upvotes
Woodbridge
indecretious wrote: Hello guys - newbie here
Wanted some advice. we've outgrown our bungalow and was thinking about moving. Seeing how crazy the RE market is, building up seems like an interesting idea. But not sure where to start, which builder to trust, how much this would costs etc? Can you guys shed some light?

Looking to build second floor approx 650-700 sq ft. 3 bedrooms and 2 washrooms and laundry room. - nothing to big.

Questions
3. What am I looking at based on cost? i dont even know where to start? is it half a million? few hundred thousand?
4. any other watchouts?

thanks
It costs roughly $350/sqf to build.
Deal Addict
Feb 4, 2010
4834 posts
3701 upvotes
indecretious wrote: Hello guys - newbie here

Questions
4. any other watchouts?

thanks
I'm no expert but that's a lot to build in a space that size. Forget the laundry unless you put it in the bathroom, but it still would be too small. The bedrooms will be quite small too.
Deal Addict
Aug 31, 2010
4552 posts
2497 upvotes