Automotive

Business car expense write off

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 25th, 2018 5:16 pm
Apr 16, 2017
41 posts
2 upvotes

Business car expense write off

Hello, can you, please, explain me how much I can write off on business expense.
I would like to lease Honda civic EX-T 2018, It will cost me about $400/month.
I work as a contractor and use my car to meet with clients.
How much I can write off when file taxes.
Can you, please, explain to the newbie how it works.

Thank you
Last edited by Alexsmit2017 on Apr 25th, 2018 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Title edit
15 replies
Deal Fanatic
Aug 11, 2008
9505 posts
1457 upvotes
Ontario
talk to your accountant, it depends on how many klm you drive for personal vs business.
Don't forget you'll have to insure the vehicle properly for the actual use of it. You will be able to write off a portion of the insurance premium as well...
Alexsmit2017 wrote: Hello, can you, please, explain me how much I can write off on business expense.
I would like to lease Honda civic EX-T 2018, It will cost me about $400/month.
I work as a contractor and use my car to meet with clients.
How much I can write off when file taxes.
Can you, please, explain to the newbie how it works.

Thank you
RIBO LICENCED INSURANCE BROKER, over 35 years experience
Deal Fanatic
Feb 16, 2006
5264 posts
2270 upvotes
Vancouver
Yes, personal miles vs business miles. Keep a logbook.

Check the CRA site. You will find info there about a cap on the value of the vehicle and the max permissible lease payment that can be considered.
Apr 16, 2017
41 posts
2 upvotes
If I will keep records of miles in my logbook, can CRA request it?
Deal Guru
Mar 23, 2008
13006 posts
10009 upvotes
Edmonton
Alexsmit2017 wrote: If I will keep records of miles in my logbook, can CRA request it?
Did you bother to check the link that someone helpfully posted for you?

C
Deal Expert
Jul 30, 2007
33237 posts
21168 upvotes
Toronto