Can an accepted offer be rescinded?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 21st, 2020 11:34 am
Deal Addict
Jan 2, 2012
3881 posts
1715 upvotes
Toronto
bobbings wrote: Each case is different for sure. If the buyers back out and if you think the value is going to drop due to the market being bad, you'd list it asap and sell it to see what the variance is from the first buyer's purchase price. From there, you can gauge if it's really worth the time and effort to sue and fight for the difference.

$100K sounds excessive but that's just the case that was posted here. I have no experience going through something similar so nothing to base it off of personally.

In a seller's market right now in the GTA, it might even benefit the sellers to relist because the values may have gone up slightly from when it was initially sold.
Even in a rising market meaning the sellers could get more for the home if they re-list, if the buyers were in breach of the contract then the sellers would still be entitled to keep the deposit as no actual damages/losses are required.

Of course to to actually sue for just the deposit amount, is probably not worth it in most cases. Only if there was a smoking gun where sellers had proof the buyers acted in bad faith on one of their conditions.

Also I believe when suing someone you can include your legal fees in the amount, but of course will only get if you win.
Deal Addict
Jan 2, 2012
3881 posts
1715 upvotes
Toronto
automorphism wrote: The buyer has not yet sent the deposit. What happens if they don't?
Deal is binding upon offer being accepted/signed by both parties. If offer is accepted with requirement of a deposit being received by X date/time, then if buyer doesn't deliver the deposit they are in breach of contract and seller could simply cancel the deal and move on, or sue them for damages if you sell for less.

You may be able to even sue for the unpaid deposit, as a debt owing to you: https://www.canlii.org/en/bc/bcca/doc/2 ... cca17.html