Travel

Can I rent a car in Norway with an Alberta driver's licence if I'm technically now living in Ontario?

• Last Updated:
  • May 28th, 2019 6:42 pm
[OP]
May 27, 2019
6 posts

Can I rent a car in Norway with an Alberta driver's licence if I'm technically now living in Ontario?

Here's my situation:

In January 2019, I moved from Alberta to Ontario for a full time master's program. In March, I changed my health card to an Ontario one and updated addresses on credit cards, banks, etc. I did not change my driver's licence because my Alberta licence was renewed less then 2 years ago, and Service Ontario would not accept that I had more than 2 years of driving experience (I've been driving for 14 years) without a driver's abstract from Alberta to prove my experience.

After a $40 public notary fee, a $25 out of province driver's abstract application fee, and 2 weeks of waiting, I receive my driver's abstract only to find out that it does not contain information on when I actually STARTED driving -- only the date that I renewed my licence. It's useless. I need to submit a new application for a full driving history record ($50), and another public notary fee ($40). I haven't done this yet due to a myriad of things, not to mention the frustration of the whole situation.

I'm going to Norway next week, and was planning to rent a car over there. Is my Alberta licence valid (in the eyes of Alberta/Ontario and the eyes of Norway)? Are there any risks involved (i.e. having car insurance through my credit card who thinks I live in Ontario)? Does Norway care what province I live in? Am I over or under thinking this?

Thanks so much!
14 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 15, 2015
2538 posts
1691 upvotes
Mississauga, ON
jhsdafklasdflmksd wrote: Here's my situation: