Ongoing Deal Discussion

[Cannet] Unlimited Cable Internet 75m $39.98, 150M $49.98, 300M $69.98

Aug 31, 2009
140 posts
70 upvotes
toronto
Got my install done today, it was quick. rogers tech, just plugged in, registered the line. I waited 10 mins, plugged in the new modem and it was up 300mbps!
Verified Rep
Jun 20, 2017
943 posts
114 upvotes
vodka wrote: First, thank you for the information. I have decided though, that Vmedia is a better deal for several reasons.
I think in competitive situations it helps to understand such things (I work in sales, I win and lose deals, ideally I'd like to win all deals, but it's not possible, however knowing why I lost helps me on the next one).
(you may or may not take this as feedback)

1. Speed wise, Vmedia offers 120/20 on their package, so slightly better, in particular the upload speed.
2. Price wise, over 1 year, Vmedia comes a bit more expensive, however (I've looked at the cost over 12 months):
i)Their speed is better; I'm not going to bother breaking that down to the cents, etc, but it's worth a few more dollars for the extra speed.
ii) Someone gave me a referral code to use for Vmedia, which is $25 off, which makes the price come down more (which I appreciate). ** What's interesting here is that Cannet also has a referral program but noone mentioned this, since both parties would benefit (maybe it was mentioned, it's 160 pages in this thread...)
iii) Vmedia includes IP TV for 1/2/6 (depending on channel package selection) months for free as part of the package; this part appeals to me, for the extra few dollars difference.
3. Cannet website only shows "Fibre Internet", nothing about cable, etc. Why is that the case? Is this a new offering for Montreal, and no one has the time to add it to the website? What is I was not on RFD, how would I know about it?