• Jul 8th, 2015 12:31 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Oct 23, 2010
637 posts
113 upvotes

Career Advice

Hey guys I'm in a huge predicament for the past week or so and wanted to get some advice from you guys.

Background:
- I'm a recent Comp sci graduate
- I have had about 3 years of internship experience at company A (fortune 500 company)
- I have been in talks with company A to hire me back fulltime before I graduated (about 3 months before graduation), manager wants me back but due to the budget he has not been able to send me an offer
- Company B (small IT firm) has just hired me and I've been working there for about 4 weeks now, works seems OK and there is lots of room for growth.

Issue:
I took the offer by company B for a full time position. Last week company A offered me a 6 month contract and my old manager is promising that he will try his best to convert me fulltime within the 6 months. Company A is also offering me a salary which is 10K higher than company B.

What would you do in my position? I am aware that I would be burning bridges with company B should I choose to leave, and I would feel pretty bad for leaving after just 4 weeks.
9 replies
Feb 10, 2015
607 posts
228 upvotes
Ask company B to match the offer of company A. If they will not you will have to decide if you want the stability of company B or if you want to risk being unemployed in 6 months if company A does not offer you a full time position.
[OP]
Oct 23, 2010
637 posts
113 upvotes
Thanks Dan, when I was in talks with company B, I had tried to negotiate my salary to what I thought company A would offer and they didn't budge. So I don't think they would budge now.

I suppose all that's left to decide is if I want to take the risk or not.
Oct 10, 2010
221 posts
67 upvotes
Ottawa