Careers

Career in IT, Teaching (PE) or Practical Nursing?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 19th, 2020 10:15 am
Tags:
[OP]
Apr 3, 2020
6 posts
2 upvotes

Career in IT, Teaching (PE) or Practical Nursing?

Hey, I'm 33 years old and I became an immigrant 4 years ago after being in Canada for 9 years. I came here as a caregiver. I have a BSc Comp Scie degree back home but since I left the country at 24, I didn't have a lot of work experience in that field. Only a year of work experience as an entry level software engineer. I mostly did tech support then QA in a call centre because it surprisingly paid more back home.

I'm currently studying Kinesiology at York but I took a break for a year to focus on working. I'm not entirely a science person so I find some Kine courses extremely hard. I wanted to do Kine as a preparation for teachers' college and make Phys Ed one of my teachables.

Why I'm doing another undergraduate degree in my 30s to apply for teachers' college is another story. I did my WES evaluation a few years ago and my 4-year degree back home is only a diploma program here in Canada. University graduates back home only have 14 years of education in total from Grade 1 onwards, versus Canadians who usually have 16 years after obtaining a degree. (However, I recently checked again and it looks like a 4-year degree from my country is now equal to a 3-year degree here.)