• Oct 22nd, 2022 11:04 am
Tags:
[OP]
Jun 6, 2009
956 posts
537 upvotes
Montréal

Cash back apps

It would be nice to have a tread to discuss cash back apps. Cash back apps can be used on top of loyalty programs and credit card rewards to maximize return on each purchase.

Which ones are you using and are worthwhile? Which ones have you tried and were disappointed with?

I've been using Checkout 51 for many years and I love it. You get cash back on selected items (mostly consumable goods and cleaning products) no matter where you buy them. Take a picture of your receipts, watch your cash back accumulate and request a cheque once you accumulate at least $20.

Caddle is another one similar to Checkout 51, but I haven't tried it yet. Has anyone tried it?

I also recently started using Receipt Hog, an app where you upload your receipts in exchange for "coins", redeemable for cash or gift cards, "no matter where you shop or what you buy". It sounds simple enough but the process to accumulate coins is actually quite convoluted and it's not true that any receipt will get you coins. But I'm still willing to give it a shot for a few months to see if it's worthwhile.

I also downloaded Paymi and Ampli, two apps linked to you debit/credit cards that offer cash back at specific stores, but I never used them. I found the list of merchants extremely lackluster, many of which I had never heard of, with annoying conditions like minimum spend, making it clear that I would never accumulate enough to redeem.
Last edited by epiphano on Aug 10th, 2021 8:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.
35 replies
Mar 25, 2015
784 posts
711 upvotes
Few other not mentioned things:
Dipp - similar to Ampli, data mining your transactions for some cashback among running promos - https://www.getdipp.ca/
Rakuten, GCR - proxy to buy stuff from partners, does data mining what you buy in browser session, but pays well at times
[OP]
Jun 6, 2009
956 posts
537 upvotes
Montréal