• Last Updated:
  • Jul 21st, 2020 8:00 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Oct 12, 2010
237 posts
247 upvotes

Cashing in Stocks or Mortgage?

About 10 years ago, I had saved up about 100k for a down payment to purchase a home, i ended up deciding to continue to rent and decided to use the down payment to purchase Apple stock. The stock is now worth about 700k in a taxable trading account. I'm now again looking to purchase a house/condo, but have been trying to decide if I should just cash out the apple stock and purchase with "cash" or should I take on a mortgage. I've always been of the mindset to not take on debt if one doesn't have to, but the cashing out of this amount of stock with about 600k in capital gains (half being taxable) is something I've never done before and the sale would put me into the highest tax bracket. My tax bill next year would be more than my annual salary. I would be able to cover the tax bill by selling other investments next year so that's not too much of an issue, but a part of me thinks that with low interest rates, that it might make sense to take on a mortgage. Am I crazy for thinking this?
7 replies
Dec 12, 2005
950 posts
116 upvotes
GTA
Mortgages are cheap. I'd sell enough for a 20% down payment (and to cover the corresponding capital gains tax) but leave the rest invested but make annual mortgage prepayments if you want to pay it down faster. This way you keep taxes lower than if you sold it all in one year and you stay invested in the market longer. As for having it all in Apple.... you've been lucky but I would look at diversifying to lower risk, especially if you're depending on it to help with housing costs.
Shojin wrote:I like to quote myself.
Deal Addict
Mar 8, 2013
2808 posts
1485 upvotes