Tags:
None
[OP]
Jun 18, 2012
10 posts
TORONTO

CGA - Is it a good idea?

Hi guys,

This is my situation, I'm in my mid 30's with not much work experience, I just found a job as admin assistant for not even 30K a year. I'm tired of getting paid so low and need to make a change to improve.

While I was a student at university (I have a bachelor in business) I wasn't a good student, I was very young and didn't really care about it. Now I see the consequences..After doing some research I think on enrolling to the CGA program. The reason is that typical admin jobs have a customer service side that I hate, that's why I think accounting will spare me that part. Is this really a good idea? My concerns are about:

1) How hard is the program itself? Are grades very important to get a job?

2) How hard is to get a job to fulfill the 2 year work experience requirement?

3) If I take courses in the university of toronto, why would I need to pay the $730 tuition fee per year?

Thanks!
19 replies
Jun 18, 2012
1 posts
1 upvote
Toronto
it took my wife about 8 years to complete the whole process.
It's tough but doable, and also you need to prepare for the expensive courses, registration fees, even you pass all your tests, you still need to have working experience for the senior position. So it's not a short term solution.
Feb 2, 2010
348 posts
8 upvotes
I actually called the CGA office in my province yesterday and I suggest you do that to in order to clear up any questions.

For BC:

In terms of cost:

1) $750 per year in tuition fees for as long as you are in the program
2) $800+ per course taken in the program (19 required courses altogether)
- You can bypass the expenses if you take courses at a local college that are transferable

In terms of length:

1) Up to 10 years in the program
2) If you are starting from scratch (ie. no accounting background), they say the average is 5 years with the work experience requirement

Things to ponder: