None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 3, 2014
1572 posts
101 upvotes
New Westminster, BC

Choosing Discount Broker/Viewing Inventory

I am new to investing, though I have taken the CSC course and follow economic news closely, and am thinking about opening a self directed RRSP/TFSA probably starting with $5000.
My big hangup is that I want to know what securities/investment products the discount brokers have access to since they don't seem to advertise more than the general ETF, bonds, or equities. For example, Questrade has a "bond bulletin" so I skimmed it and noticed they don't have any foreign bonds offerings so I contacted them and they confirmed this. So for someone who wants to know exactly which securities I will have access to when selecting a discount broker how am I supposed to know this before signing up?
I know to do my due diligence and read the fine print for administrative fees, trading fees, account minimums, etc. Any other tips you have, I would appreciate.
Thank you in advance.
12 replies
Jun 27, 2007
579 posts
112 upvotes
Toronto
Hi gelato69,

I can’t speak for any other brokerage, but if you’d like to see a full listing of products we offer at Questrade, take a peek at our products page. Let me know if you have any questions.

John – Team Questrade
Deal Addict
Jan 7, 2014
2628 posts
515 upvotes
Manitoba
Ok lets talk about ECN . The highest ranked broker as per the article charges ECN and Questrade too . So I thought of looking into it.
Why is a hugh cry about it ? Is it such a large fee? I saw on Questrade website that it is $0.0035 / share that too only when you sell it.
So for the ETF folks, lets say VUN is 33.25 today. Even if someone sell 50000 CAD worth of VUN that would be 1500 units so by $0.0035 / share it would be 5.25$. Can't someone pay 5 bucks for such a large value order ? Whats big deal? Anyone knowledgeable on this?
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 3, 2014
1572 posts
101 upvotes
New Westminster, BC
Not the answers I am looking for. Let me try to clarify.