Personal Finance

CIBC Smart Plus Checking + possible to run at Zero cost in Quebec with overdraft 5000?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 29th, 2021 8:27 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 7, 2012
1842 posts
519 upvotes
Montreal

CIBC Smart Plus Checking + possible to run at Zero cost in Quebec with overdraft 5000?

Hi
I have been using Tangerine's excellent checking product for many years. I'm finding it difficult to keep a good rate on the savings accounts where I would keep money until I got a email notification from the account saying that a bill had made my account go into the negative, that Tangerine had covered it (up to 5000!) and that I had till the evening to put the money in to cover it. I found this a great way to stay at positive flow and was motivated to put in the work as long as I was getting interest on the savings accounts.
I just recently got a notification from CIBC re their smart plus account

https://www.cibc.com/en/personal-bankin ... count.html

Which would zero out the costs of running the monthly as long as I kept maintaining min stock value .

I want to leverage both a zero cost on the checking while also having a gain on the savings with a interest accrual... I see that for CIBC I had to apply for over draft which they can cover up to 5 k...but here's the tricky part... for all provinces EXCEPT QC there is possibility of PAY PER USE for 5.00 if you don't cover the overdraft within 24 hours... awesome, just like Tangerine!

But. Its not allowed for residents of QC... has anyone found a way to work around this?

Id really like to stay with CIBC but i want to leverage BOTH keeping my money in a savings account rate and pay zero for the checking utilities.
3 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 16, 2019
1568 posts
1958 upvotes
Why not get a LOC with CIBC?