• Last Updated:
  • Apr 4th, 2019 8:09 pm
[OP]
Apr 1, 2019
32 posts
33 upvotes

Commercial Residential Mixed

Hi,

I am a newbie andrecently started my house hunting in the GTA. I have a partner and we have no kids so we find most detached houses too big for us.

Recently my partner suggested to me to look into commercial-residential mixed properties. The attraction is having an appartment on the second floor is good enough for us and having a business tenant on the first floor to help with our mortgage payments.

We know property tax will be higher but so is rent so we’re ok with that. We just don’t have expereince with this class of property. Most of them seem to be located quite centrally which mean noise and security can be bad. Also they seem to be older buildings that may have hidden issues.

Do you have expereince living in this thpe of property? It seems to be a very specific property for very specific buyers so we are also concerned with resale in case we want to sell in the future.

Thanks
10 replies
Deal Fanatic
Feb 2, 2014
8760 posts
2507 upvotes
Toronto
ucu5009 wrote: Hi,

I am a newbie andrecently started my house hunting in the GTA. I have a partner and we have no kids so we find most detached houses too big for us.

Recently my partner suggested to me to look into commercial-residential mixed properties. The attraction is having an appartment on the second floor is good enough for us and having a business tenant on the first floor to help with our mortgage payments.

We know property tax will be higher but so is rent so we’re ok with that. We just don’t have expereince with this class of property. Most of them seem to be located quite centrally which mean noise and security can be bad. Also they seem to be older buildings that may have hidden issues.

Do you have expereince living in this thpe of property? It seems to be a very specific property for very specific buyers so we are also concerned with resale in case we want to sell in the future.