Tags:
None
[OP]
Aug 20, 2019
238 posts
134 upvotes

Completely lost... Need advice between TD Rewards, Aeroplan and CIBC Aventura

Hello there,

Im new to credit in Canada and currently I have the TD Platinum Travel CC.
My main destination when redeeming points would be Buenos Aires. Now, just out of curiosity because the airline I'd take is Air Canada, I made a search and I found that a roundtrip flight would be 60k miles + around $550 in taxes which is insane !

Now, I made a search in Expedia For TD and the total price for the same flight is around $947 (Including taxes).
About CIBC Aventura, honestly I don't have a clue at all, but it could be an alternative from what I read.

If you don't mind, could someone explain me what my best option is and if im not mistaken, should I discard the Aeroplan option?

Thanks all !
19 replies
[OP]
Aug 20, 2019
238 posts
134 upvotes
Cheapmaestro wrote: Here's a good guide:
https://princeoftravel.com/aeroplan-guide

Tl;dr: never redeem on Scare Canada
Thanks about it.... Then according to that guide its not good at all for me.
There are not so many airlines that flight from Canada to my home country. Air Canada is just one of them and the only one that allows 2 baggages.
Now the ticket outside Aeroplan has only a cost of $150 in taxes which it makes Aeroplan if im correct a big NO for me.
Deal Fanatic
Jun 29, 2007
5028 posts
1670 upvotes
ezequielfriscia wrote: Hello there,

Im new to credit in Canada and currently I have the TD Platinum Travel CC.
My main destination when redeeming points would be Buenos Aires. Now, just out of curiosity because the airline I'd take is Air Canada, I made a search and I found that a roundtrip flight would be 60k miles + around $550 in taxes which is insane !

Now, I made a search in Expedia For TD and the total price for the same flight is around $947 (Including taxes).
About CIBC Aventura, honestly I don't have a clue at all, but it could be an alternative from what I read.