Tags:
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Nov 2, 2013
5516 posts
1404 upvotes
Edmonton, AB

Completing degree online/part time for CPA

I did 3/4 years of a Math and Economics degree back in 2012. Looking to finish it off so I can work on my CPA.

What are some good options for someone looking to complete a degree online or part time ?
Consultant, Operator/Trucker
  • Oilfield & Industrial Services, Road Construction
  • Tax & Finance
  • In the Western Canadian Oilfield since 2013
5 replies
Jan 1, 2015
663 posts
557 upvotes
Toronto, ON
I had a friend become CPA PEP eligible taking online courses at Athabasca. It's easier than regular university accounting courses and is CPA-accredited.
Mar 4, 2010
522 posts
216 upvotes
Toronto
i finished a bachelor of management through Athabasca and added on some extra courses to complete CPA. my suggestion is to analyze the best courses that offer 1 to 1 equivalency. I think the ones like law, intro to accounting, cost accounting etc. The ones that you have to take multiple courses like intermediate accounting, tax, etc for one of the prep courses, take directly through CPA as you'll only need to take one course (tax, advanced accounting etc)
Deal Addict
Aug 19, 2018
1372 posts
1497 upvotes
djfunk wrote: i finished a bachelor of management through Athabasca and added on some extra courses to complete CPA. my suggestion is to analyze the best courses that offer 1 to 1 equivalency. I think the ones like law, intro to accounting, cost accounting etc. The ones that you have to take multiple courses like intermediate accounting, tax, etc for one of the prep courses, take directly through CPA as you'll only need to take one course (tax, advanced accounting etc)
How much did it cost you roughly?
Mar 4, 2010
522 posts
216 upvotes
Toronto
Cucumference wrote: How much did it cost you roughly?