Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2008
3715 posts
1228 upvotes
Belle River

Cooler for a 5900x?

It would be going on an X570 ITX board so clearances could be an issue, like making sure it clears the RAM and doesn't hit the rear exhaust fan over the backplate.

Case is a Cooler Master MasterBox Q300L mATX, max CPU cooler height 159mm:
https://www.coolermaster.com/catalog/ca ... box-q300l/

I have no experience with water cooling but maybe it's time to try an all-in-one since that would eliminate all the potential clearance issues. That case says it can support a rear 120mm radiator or front 240mm radiator.
MasterboxQ300L.jpg

Note: Reason for ITX in mATX case is upgrades wouldn't fit in previous ITX case so I moved it into the this case I already had.
11 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 15, 2010
2085 posts
408 upvotes
Brampton
AIO 240 should fit on the very top of the case. However, since its a mATX case, you might have an issue with putting it the 240mm + fans. They might block the RAM modules and/or wont provide you enough space for your 8-pin.

You'll know this, once you have the AIO on hand and able to double check it.

You can put the 240 rad on the front. Just keep in mind, if you can preferably - orient the tubes so they're on the bottom of the case.
Deal Addict
Jul 26, 2004
4563 posts
1643 upvotes
Should be able to fit a Noctua U12A in there. Top of the line 120mm air cooler if you want to go that route. AIO water coolers aint too bad to put in either.

Or perhaps you can look into a better ITX case. Cooler Master NR200 is a pretty popular one that should be able to fit alot of common components. Using one myself. Moved from a Fractal Design Core 500 to the NR200. I like the NR200 since you can take basically 5 outta the 6 sides off from the chassis, makes for easier installation of components. But its even more restrictive on Air cooler height at 155mm, does support AIO though.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2008
3715 posts
1228 upvotes
Belle River