• May 2nd, 2021 9:47 am
Tags:
[OP]
Jul 23, 2011
42 posts
5 upvotes
Ottawa

Cost of stones

My neighbor wants to put stones and steps between our two homes. Any advice about how much it will cost and any questions to ask from the contractor. As I am new to this kind of work and also how much is the reasonable cost per square feet for a pathway along the driveway in Ottawa. Any good contractors so that I can get quotes from myself. Thanks in advance for the advice.
19 replies
Deal Fanatic
Aug 10, 2011
9526 posts
2111 upvotes
Somewhere
Can you Google some pictures of what you're referring to and post them here?
:confused:
Deal Addict
Nov 24, 2013
1640 posts
962 upvotes
Toronto
Someone in my neighborhood replaced the grass in the median between his house and the one on his side with stones. It looks terrible.

A lot of garden centers and Home Depot have online prices for stones.
Deal Addict
Feb 4, 2010
4836 posts
3702 upvotes
lpin14 wrote: Someone in my neighborhood replaced the grass in the median between his house and the one on his side with stones. It looks terrible.
I agree. I don't think it's a good idea for many reason...e.g. weeds popping out but also it's better to have more green space than hard.

Also this is an easy DIY job if you don't want to spend $$ on a contractor. Not sure what kind of stones you're looking for but you may want to check on Kijiji sometimes people are giving away large quantities because they're getting rid of what you're trying to accomplish Grinning Face With Smiling Eyes

I personally think it's silly to pay for stones/rocks.
Deal Expert
Feb 7, 2017
17058 posts
14438 upvotes
Eastern Ontario