Costco

120 Watt Solar Panel Kit - $200

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 29th, 2022 12:39 pm
Dec 11, 2008
973 posts
570 upvotes
Toronto
theflyingsquirrel wrote: DC or AC, in order to get to 1500W, you still need 125A on the DC end. You cannot create power from nothing.
And it is not including the loss from inverter. If it is 80% efficient, you need 1875W.
So 156A to be safe.
How long is your run, inches, feet, yards?
Considering that 1/0 gauge wire is about $1.74 a foot and there are many continuous use 1500W-2300W DC to AC inverters for a few hundreds or less. It's not that big a deal running greater than 125A on short runs.

Look up a wire sizing chart for reference.
Dec 27, 2011
184 posts
250 upvotes
Sherwood Park
sks8100 wrote: I know its more expensive but how does the Coleman compare to something like this?
https://www.amazon.ca/BLUETTI-Portable- ... 13&sr=8-40

sorry I'm totally new to this but would like to dabble. Researching slowly but appreciate opinions of more seasoned folks here.
Ignore the Marketing crap about efficiency and such.. At these small sizes it really doesn't amount to a hill of beans.

The panel you linked to is specifically designed to hook up to a BlueTTI portable power station. Its a good panel, nice and light and in an attractive portable package. Although you are paying for that (and paying a lot).

With a quality portable power station, it doesn't matter what panel you hook up to them. They have their own built in MPPT controllers and can use a wide range of panels. I hook my power station up to a no-name, bought off amazon 100W panel. It charges it just fine.