• Last Updated:
  • Jul 21st, 2019 9:08 pm
Oct 21, 2017
60 posts
24 upvotes
L3h2w8
dilligafeh wrote:
Apr 19th, 2019 10:55 am
What would you say the cost of that thing was with all the time and effort required ?
I don't doubt it tasted amazing, but I just don't have the patience and would've been nibbling at it at every stage...there would've been nothing left to sear.
Then don't do it. Sous vide and smoking is all patience. Do some chores, binge a tv show, catch up on some reading.
Deal Addict
Oct 26, 2007
2426 posts
187 upvotes
Winnipeg
Lots of good tips and tricks here. Again, watch the Franklin videos on trimming and preparing the done brisket.

I picked up a 7k brisket at Costco WPG South yesterday, $70. Looking forward to smoking it next weekend. Just have to decide if I go with my faithful Vision Kamado where I am ultra comfortable or use my horizontal stick burner that I am still learning. I'm thinking Kamado with lump and oak for a $70 piece of meat.
Jul 5, 2004
23731 posts
3242 upvotes
ESummer wrote:
Apr 19th, 2019 4:11 pm
How do you you finish your brisket from the sous vide? i'm curious about this recipe. I've been wanting to try to sous vide a brisket but been shy about it.
Let it rest for a bit, sear in a hot pan, slice against the grain
Lots of good tips and tricks here. Again, watch the Franklin videos on trimming and preparing the done brisket.

I picked up a 7k brisket at Costco WPG South yesterday, $70. Looking forward to smoking it next weekend. Just have to decide if I go with my faithful Vision Kamado where I am ultra comfortable or use my horizontal stick burner that I am still learning. I'm thinking Kamado with lump and oak for a $70 piece of meat.
Can't go wrong with the Kamado. Besides, brisket is not a piece of meat you practice on.
Apr 18, 2019
2 posts
1 upvote
[/attachment]
blind56 wrote:
Apr 17th, 2019 10:58 pm