• Last Updated:
  • Oct 19th, 2020 2:00 pm
[OP]
Aug 19, 2004
848 posts
545 upvotes
Toronto

[Costco] Yamaha electronic Drum Kit with chair (DTX-432) -$649.99

I've been looking for a drum kit for beginners recently; Apparently, the 3 competitive brands are Alesis Nitro Mesh, Yamaha DTX 402K and Roland (pricier).

Costco has a special buy discount on this drum set that was last available august 2019 at this price.
costco-yamaha-dtx432-electronic-drums-650-2309268/

Basically, normal price is $829.99 for the costco Yamaha 432K drum set with drum chair (throne).

The 432K is a canadian costco exclusive which has a 402K ($599 @ cosmo music) + bass/foot pedal upgrade. It's missing the 3 zone snare of the 452k model ($799 @ cosmo music)

I'd love to hear actual drummers weigh in on this; but as a complete newb, it looks like a reasonable deal for starter drums.

I also researched this and you can upgrade the snare to the 3-zone yamaha upgrade for $89+ tax @ a later point if you wish making this kit equivalent to the 452 model.
21 replies
Jan 19, 2007
872 posts
515 upvotes
For a beginner set it looks like a good price. TBH though...after purchasing a roland kit with only a mesh snare, I don't think I would purchase any electric kit that wasn't full mesh. The lack shock absorption in the rubber pads (at least for me) makes the wrists sore when using proper technique within 30 minutes. I've rented budget yamaha kits in the past and they're OK, but, the samples if you decide to try and record one day are a bit cheesy and "cheap" sounding. On another hand, I do have one of the older alesis nitro kids with all rubber pads and they're much more forgiving compared to my roland kit. Best bet is to try and play one of the kits if possible before buying even if it is costco.
Oct 2, 2007
729 posts
249 upvotes
Montreal