Deal Addict
Nov 9, 2013
3912 posts
3598 upvotes
Edmonton, AB
Germack wrote: NW: -11K YTD
Portfolio: -4% YTD

NWJULY2020.png
15 years and running strong - shows you the power of long term compounding. Way to stick with it!
Keep calm and go long
Jun 7, 2017
7 posts
13 upvotes
I saved $200k in in last 5 years, Please suggest ti pay mortgage or investing . If investing please suggest some stocks / index funds. My background is 40 yrs old with 3 kids.
Mar 4, 2008
537 posts
91 upvotes
BC
Trying to figure out what to put in my RRSP. I am 31 years old with $9,000 cash in the RRSP but working on maxing out my TFSA. So got another 20-30 years to go. I'm just lost on what the US witholding tax is all about. I only have 2 stocks ($6000 worth) invested in my TFSA, but willing to add some ETF's to the TFSA as well ($25,000 cash waiting to be invested)..waiting to see what happens in the next few months of the stock market...suggestions for RRSP?
Jun 7, 2010
288 posts
79 upvotes
Techsavvy wrote: I saved $200k in in last 5 years, Please suggest ti pay mortgage or investing . If investing please suggest some stocks / index funds. My background is 40 yrs old with 3 kids.
JimboD wrote: Trying to figure out what to put in my RRSP. I am 31 years old with $9,000 cash in the RRSP but working on maxing out my TFSA. So got another 20-30 years to go. I'm just lost on what the US witholding tax is all about. I only have 2 stocks ($6000 worth) invested in my TFSA, but willing to add some ETF's to the TFSA as well ($25,000 cash waiting to be invested)..waiting to see what happens in the next few months of the stock market...suggestions for RRSP?

These questions are too rudimentary for this thread. I suggest that you go over to: https://canadiancouchpotato.com/ and read up all they have to understand passive investing (which is after all what @Germack here is doing).

If you rather not stare on a screen and want to read books on these topics, some of the easy-to-digest books are: