• Last Updated:
  • Aug 6th, 2021 6:32 am
[OP]
Sep 29, 2019
47 posts
6 upvotes

Crytpo Profit Taking Strategy

Hey crypto experts!

I'm relatively new to the crypto world and have learned a lot over the last few months. I'm of the belief that this bull market is going to run to around the end of the year with BTC reaching somewhere around 100k.

My question is around profit taking and what strategies people use to prepare for a bear market. I know the best advice people will always give you, whether it's crypto or stocks, is to secure your profits along the way. But if everything in crypto is tied to the price of BTC, is it really securing your profits if say for example one of your alt coins does a 3x and you then take out half of it and move those profits into another alt coin?

If the majority of projects can't hold their value through a BTC crash, then isn't the only way to secure profits to move it out of crypto altogether (or into a stable coin) and wait for the inevitable BTC crash to buy back in?

I'm not opposed to that strategy by any means, but isn't that attempting to time the market? Which is usually not a winning strategy for retail investors. I feel like I'm drastically limiting my potential gains if I'm always moving my profits out of crypto instead of reinvesting them.

Anyway, just looking for advice on how people handle their profit taking strategies since I don't want to get wrecked when the bear market comes.

Thanks!
1 reply
Deal Fanatic
Dec 14, 2010
6896 posts
8911 upvotes
My setup is to have 2 approaches, a “trading” strategy, focused on short term, and an “investing” strategy, focused on long term.