• Sep 20th, 2021 1:13 pm
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Apr 5, 2016
5506 posts
3927 upvotes
Calgary/Vancouver

Custom Built Keyboard Thread

I am looking to get at least a base frame keyboard to get into this hobby. Most likely going to get a GMMK Pro with Glorious Panda switches and their Aura keycaps for now.

I tried to do some research on this, but there's just too much information and different makers.

So I am creating this thread for all you crazies out there with $1000+ keyboards so post up your build!

Partly also to give me an idea of what to get haha.
17 replies
Nov 6, 2014
910 posts
1567 upvotes
Woodbridge, ON
I just learned something new.... $1000+ keyboards!
Mar 2, 2017
234 posts
216 upvotes
I've lurked around the scene for a few years and sparsely contributed from time to time. I'm far from an expert, but I can offer a bit of advice and a recollection of how I got to where I am.

My biggest single piece of advice is to take it slow and try new things. You can ask questions like you're doing, read reviews, watch videos and do all kinds of research, but nothing beats using a keyboard with a specific switch or layout for a few weeks or months before you can really get a feel for it. Before you throw $1K at a new keyboard, make sure you're confident on all the different aspects.

As for my experiences, I started with Cherry brown switches. Ok, but I thought I'd like lighter springs and linear. So I tried Cherry red. Nope, definitely not. Then I moved on to Cherry black. Ok, but I missed the tactile bump. So I tried Cherry clear and I was pretty happy with that. There are lots of new options now that the Cherry patents have expired, but I haven't had a strong urge to try anything different. Maybe some Zealios if the opportunity arises.

I tried an Ergodox shortly after it came out. I think I got it on the 2nd (?) group buy from Massdrop circa 2013. Still have it and get it out once in a while, but just couldn't learn to love it.