• May 13th, 2019 12:44 pm
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Jul 7, 2017
5676 posts
2501 upvotes
SW corner of the cou…

Cutting drywall nicely and neatly......

I need to cut a hole through drywall to replace an outside wall faucet (for some absurd reason, the supply is shared with the powder room sink) which froze over the winter, and I will need to leave an access hatch.

I'm not good with a drywall saw.

A plumber came over to install a new shower a few months ago and he had this power tool that seemed to use a blade that was not rotary or reciprocal.

Was it an oscillating multi-tool by any chance or is there a better solution?
Cream rises to the top. So does scum.
11 replies
Dec 4, 2009
322 posts
201 upvotes
It was an oscillating tool, buy one at CT and make a few practice cuts on a scrap piece in the garage...
Deal Addict
Jan 5, 2003
4267 posts
3698 upvotes
Toronto
Pros use a spiral saw as TrevorK said, but an oscillating multitool is just as good for straight lines and you can use it for many, many other tasks (sanding, etc.)
Feb 5, 2019
174 posts
154 upvotes
Likely an oscillating multitool. Makes nice clean cuts in drywall and baseboards. You can usually find Mastercraft branded one in the range of 50-60 or a Dewalt for 80-100 via Amazon.

The blades that come with the dewalt are of much higher quality btw.
Deal Addict
Nov 27, 2013
1385 posts
1780 upvotes
Get a good oscillating tool. It will do a good job and cutting out drywall but you can use it a a sander, cut trim and baseboards or anything else really.

I have a bosch its one of my most useful tool around the house. https://www.homedepot.ca/product/bosch- ... 1001070419

Spend a little more than a black a decker and it will last you a lifetime.
Battery powered is nice for small jobs but for any extensive use (esp sanding) corded is better.
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Jul 7, 2017
5676 posts
2501 upvotes
SW corner of the cou…