• Sep 17th, 2019 8:09 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 13, 2017
2310 posts
1095 upvotes
GTA

Dad taking parental leave

Has anyone taken parental leave as a dad while the mother went back to work?

My wife has taken 17 months of leave after our daughter was born. Plan was that she will go back to work when child is 17 months and I'm taking a month off.

Except for feeding, I do everything that my wife does and I'm comfortable talking care of our baby. However, I've a bit of cold feet with my parental leave . Appreciate if anyone give your experience.

When baby is fussy / hungry, its usually my wife that calms her down by breastfeeding. This is also how my daughter usually sleeps. I can calm her down with food, play etc, but no matter what I do, she wont sleep in my hands or on her own. This is my biggest fear that she may be fussy all day. I have some experience of my wife being away for 2-3 hours, but not the entire day.
26 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 28, 2013
2611 posts
1073 upvotes
Quebec
headleygrange wrote: Has anyone taken parental leave as a dad while the mother went back to work?

My wife has taken 17 months of leave after our daughter was born. Plan was that she will go back to work when child is 17 months and I'm taking a month off.

Except for feeding, I do everything that my wife does and I'm comfortable talking care of our baby. However, I've a bit of cold feet with my parental leave . Appreciate if anyone give your experience.

When baby is fussy / hungry, its usually my wife that calms her down by breastfeeding. This is also how my daughter usually sleeps. I can calm her down with food, play etc, but no matter what I do, she wont sleep in my hands or on her own. This is my biggest fear that she may be fussy all day. I have some experience of my wife being away for 2-3 hours, but not the entire day.
I’m still 2 weeks left before I got back to work but my case is after feeding I swaddle my kid ( not to tight) and slowly tap his ass and let him sleep