• Last Updated:
  • Jan 8th, 2018 12:28 am
[OP]
Aug 20, 2016
29 posts
2 upvotes

Damaged Car - Insurance for Rental

Hi everyone,
I'm relatively new to this insurance stuff so I just want to post a quick question regarding my issue. Yesterday my neighbour's friend backed up into my vehicle (my car was parked in front of my house) causing damage. I have called the insurance and made a claim for it. I asked about rental vehicles and they said it is covered up to $1500. I read that if I'm 0% at fault and the other driver is 100% at fault, their insurance would cover my rental cost? Would I just go to Enterprise (insurance sent me there) and tell them the situation and they would deal with the billing? How would this work?

The situation is I'm 19 and need my car to commute to school (50km commute) so would they also allow me to drive the rental? I'm located in Ontario. I'm hoping someone could clarify my questions. Thank you very much.
7 replies
May 17, 2017
294 posts
190 upvotes
Waterloo
Voda14 wrote: Hi everyone,
I'm relatively new to this insurance stuff so I just want to post a quick question regarding my issue. Yesterday my neighbour's friend backed up into my vehicle (my car was parked in front of my house) causing damage. I have called the insurance and made a claim for it. I asked about rental vehicles and they said it is covered up to $1500. I read that if I'm 0% at fault and the other driver is 100% at fault, their insurance would cover my rental cost? Would I just go to Enterprise (insurance sent me there) and tell them the situation and they would deal with the billing? How would this work?

The situation is I'm 19 and need my car to commute to school (50km commute) so would they also allow me to drive the rental? I'm located in Ontario. I'm hoping someone could clarify my questions. Thank you very much.
You might want to check with insurance to see if they can get you a car.