Tags:
[OP]
Jul 20, 2009
535 posts
88 upvotes
Ottawa

Debate between RDX 16/17 vs Madza CX 18/19

Hi all,

This is my first time posting in this sub-forum. Please take it easy on me :( :(

I am in a market for a new car as my Forester 2010 XT brings me down every summer; spent closed to 2k in the past 4 summer for a mechanical work. I hope this is good time to buy a new used card and I am not in rush to buy it; can wait few months if there is a good deal. My budget is roughly around 25k before tax and I hope that anyone can provide me a good advice for my next purchase. I am looking for a reliable car, fun to drive and affordable to maintain.

I am debating between RDX 2016/2017 (ATech package trim) vs Madza CX5 2018/2019 (GT trim). Is there any known issue on these model/year on both cars and I am open for other options as well

Thank you so much for your time and stay well and healthy all

LT
38 replies
Deal Guru
Feb 9, 2006
12157 posts
6700 upvotes
Brampton
Drivetrain on the RDX is better. More power and pep.
The Mazda "Drives" better than the RDX. But it feels underpowered

Infotainment sucks on the RDX.
The Mazda can be upgraded to support AA and CP and or already has it available depending on your model year.

I'd personally lean toward the Mazda for a better all round car. But at the same time if you're coming from an XT you'll find it underpowered.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 2, 2006
5995 posts
671 upvotes
Stouffville, ON
The RDX. over the cx5. It has a better look and feel to it.
--
Deal Fanatic
Mar 29, 2002
5122 posts
1600 upvotes
Vancouver
RDX is basically a higher end CRV so its above the CX model as the CX is more comparable to the CRV
Deal Addict
Aug 17, 2008
1154 posts
571 upvotes
From your question, you already know the Acura RDX is more expensive, so for the same amount of money you would need to get a 2-year older car -- 2016/2017 RDX vs 2018/2019 CX5.

To me the answer is clear. Go for the Mazda CX-5.