• May 25th, 2019 1:50 am
[OP]
Sep 26, 2007
593 posts
95 upvotes
Toronto

Deck renovation help

Hi there,
I've been putting it off to redo our deck for the past 2 years but this year, I have decided to redo our deck with a very tight budget but after getting a few quotes, my budget is not enough to redo the basis decking. The deck is fairly large 41.5 ft x 12 ft and I've been getting all kinds of pricing which makes me all worried and who to pick.
Ideally, I'm looking for a maintenance free or easy to maintain deck but there's no such thing unless i go with composite material which doubles the price.

Contractor 1 (working in my neighborhood quoted me $14,500 for all wood decking and wood railing and for $2,500 more, I can replace the wood railing with all aluminum railings.
For composite option, it is almost double the price at $32k with Aluminum railing/ temper glass..

Contract 2 quoted for the same job gave me a price of $18.5k for wood decking/railing.

Contractor 3 = above $21k with a new sod. (approx 180sqft)

So, what's a reasonable price for this size deck?

Any advice on a cheaper options?
Thank you.
7 replies
Jan 19, 2017
669 posts
681 upvotes
Kitchener
Have you looked under and reviewed the structure of the deck? Often, the structure is ok, but planking/sheathing is all that needs replacement.
Deal Guru
Mar 23, 2008
11878 posts
8134 upvotes
Edmonton
jmichou wrote: Hi there,
I've been putting it off to redo our deck for the past 2 years but this year, I have decided to redo our deck with a very tight budget but after getting a few quotes, my budget is not enough to redo the basis decking. The deck is fairly large 41.5 ft x 12 ft and I've been getting all kinds of pricing which makes me all worried and who to pick.
Ideally, I'm looking for a maintenance free or easy to maintain deck but there's no such thing unless i go with composite material which doubles the price.