Home & Garden

Deck -- start over? Or repairs possible?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 14th, 2020 11:47 pm
[OP]
Apr 6, 2020
49 posts
29 upvotes
Halifax

Deck -- start over? Or repairs possible?

Complete newbie when it comes to renos lol.

When we bought the home, one area noted on the home inspection was the deck. Here's what was noted:

- Beam supporting the rear of the deck is two-ply. Inspector said it must be three-ply.
- Support joists are fastened to the side of the building. Joist hangers and 4 inch lag bolts need to be installed for additional support.
- Deck is sagging from front to back. Myself, I noticed the columns were not put into a concrete base, only into the ground.
- Surface boards deteriorated.

With all of this, is it worth it to replace the entire deck, or pick away at the repairs individually? I noticed the homeowners put in a small "addition" to the deck to join the pool to the main deck. I plan on constructing a deck around the pool in the next year or so...very unsure on what to do. My plan was to say "eff it" and start from scratch, but I could also pick away at this by constructing the deck around the pool first, then re-do the main deck portion.

Thoughts? Will be attaching pics for reference.
Images
  • 410D5B81-C145-43D7-8313-F9743279FB18.jpeg
  • 064DA833-1CFB-466B-8996-FD7BD53CF9E3.jpeg
  • 39F16507-53BE-4B86-ABA9-6F7E863A77E8.jpeg
  • DFEF954D-6E84-4F5D-88AD-6552B1DD3C0C.jpeg
  • 181A435F-7AA7-4B5C-8E94-D285739AA183.jpeg
  • 3ABD4838-60EB-41C9-81B9-8FBE72FB934F.jpeg
Controller -- CPA, CMA
HVAC Industry -- Lennox dealer
16 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 25, 2007
9960 posts
5246 upvotes
Paris
Start over and here is why:
Joints attached to house
Wood supports into ground.

That’s 2 major points of potential failure and no way I can easily see to correct those without taking it down.
Deal Fanatic
Jan 25, 2007
9960 posts
5246 upvotes
Paris
After pics... OMG deck blocks? And that span from house to first beam is too much.
Jun 26, 2019
966 posts