DIY: Wainscotting [Post 689]

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 30th, 2020 4:28 pm
Deal Addict
Jun 27, 2015
1653 posts
212 upvotes
East York, ON
PCShutters wrote: Hell no. The saving is no where near enough to offset the investment I put into the tools but that was never the intent. I like shinny new tools--it brings me joy every time I use them so it is worth it to me.

You can certainly do what I do with more affordable tools where the tools will pay for itself like my other hobby. I have spent about 10K on my mechanic tools and I easily saved over 100K+ with all of the cars I have been maintaining since the early 2000s.
I have done that math myself too and came to the conclusion that if I put money in high end tools which I could afford it won't make sense
If you own and run a business in a different area then the time problem kicks in and you lose more time=money by renovating yourself than paying someone to do it
Unfortunately I do not own a business in the real sense and the things still add for me to do certain renos myself.
The main reason for doing it myself is because I do not trust contractors ...not sure what happened with my damn house but every thing I touch and try to fix seems to have been done cutting corners,, the only strategy involved was "grab the money and run, never come back"

I also like woodworking and I am dreaming to do some of the work you did but I do not have as much time as I would like to put in this.
[external link removed, do not repost]
Dec 27, 2017
309 posts
127 upvotes
Fantastic work!
I would like to learn more about the plastic tiles in your garage, though. :) They look great.
[OP]
Sep 5, 2011
636 posts
827 upvotes
Toronto
eljay0 wrote: Fantastic work!
I would like to learn more about the plastic tiles in your garage, though. :) They look great.