• Last Updated:
  • May 23rd, 2020 11:15 pm
[OP]
Jul 4, 2018
86 posts
18 upvotes
Vancouver

Do you use dealership for oil changes??

Quick question for everyone here as Im curious as to the answers. My Honda Civic just reminded me that its time for a service appointment (Oil and Filter change / tire rotation). Seeing as it is now just out of warranty.. do people continue taking the cars to the dealership.. or would you recommend going to get the Oil and Filter done at a mister lube ish kind of place or option C?

Evaluating my options as this service through Honda Canada costs $300+ LOL
I am a licensed Mortgage Broker in the Vancouver / Lower Mainland area.
178 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
32207 posts
18054 upvotes
Ottawa
Oil change only and nothing more.
What you are being quoted is for "inspection", which can be argued if its even done at all.
Deal Fanatic
Oct 6, 2007
7858 posts
4213 upvotes
Kootenays
It's cheap to get 0W-20 semi synthetic at my dealership ($54.95 IIRC) for my Venza. It's a loss leader for them. I just make sure they don't add a cabin air filter or engine air filter in the service, as I can buy 3 of each for what they charge for one. Even on sale, the oil and filter costs almost that if I was to do it myself.
Deal Fanatic
Mar 10, 2005
8343 posts
2484 upvotes
Kiraly wrote: I paid $450 for lifetime oil, lube, and filter changes at the dealer when I bought my Mazda 3 in 2007. Had 34 of them done over 11 years, works out to $13.24 each.
This is not a deal, you gave them the money up front, you are forced to use the dealer, they will up sell you, their maintenance schedules are not the same as the recommended schedule.
"Leaders who don't listen will eventually be surrounded by people who have nothing to say"

"There are no bad teams, only bad leaders.”
Jun 21, 2009
488 posts
64 upvotes
You're going to hear a lot of opinions.

I have only taken my car to the dealership for recall work and when I need warranty.

All maintenance work I go elsewhere.