Home & Garden

Does the current CanadianTier router deal worth it?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 17th, 2020 3:10 pm
[OP]
Jan 26, 2018
21 posts
4 upvotes

Does the current CanadianTier router deal worth it?

I am a beginner woodworker for weekends/nights in garage...and I am looking for purchasing a set of router and bits. Do not want to pay for the premium for dewalt or bosch etc...Not even sure how much further I would progress home project wise with the router...Canadian tier has some deals ongoing currently. Wonder if anyone could give some advise?

The router combo kit below is 150$ currently. I heard people say bad things about MasterCraft but not sure the specific...
https://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/mast ... p.html#srp

The router bit set below is 75$ currently and it is mastercraft as well...but the bits are only for 1/4" shank.
https://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/mast ... 6870p.html

The alternatives I am looking at are the two routers below from homedepot.

This Ryobi plunge router looks good but with roughly the same price, it does not come as well equipped as the mastercraft combo above...Maybe it has better quality and durability?
https://www.homedepot.ca/product/ryobi- ... 1000721583

This Ryobi router below is the cheapest I guess I can get locally from a well known brand and it does come with three 1/4" bits for me to start without paying any extra...
https://www.homedepot.ca/product/ryobi- ... 1000721586

Thanks!
/S
10 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 12, 2007
2501 posts
783 upvotes
The maximum router goes for sale at $99 once or twice a year. I would recommend if you can wait, that is a great value. I have one and it's great, will be installing in a router table when I have a chance and keep the small one I have for.lighter duty
Deal Expert
Feb 11, 2007
15402 posts
16476 upvotes
Oakville
I picked up the Maximum router for $99, mostly because there were many times it would have been very handy, even if I wasn't doing a ton of wood finishing.