Home & Garden

Does this exist? 6-30P Outlet Timer

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 12th, 2020 9:55 pm
Feb 27, 2007
667 posts
558 upvotes

Does this exist? 6-30P Outlet Timer

I have a welding receptacle (NEMA 6-30R) in my garage that I currently have a Dyna-Glo 4800w heater (NEMA 6-30P) plugged into, what I'm looking for for is an outlet timer box so I can have it run during off-peak hours.

The closest I've been able to find is the Intermatic HB114, but it uses a NEMA 15-20R/P. Being as I'm not an expert and have no idea what the supply houses carry I thought I'd check and see if anyone here knows if one exists.
8 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 5, 2003
2695 posts
591 upvotes
North York
I don't know if there's a plug in model, but you can get hardwired timers that are capable of controlling a hot tub (ex. 50-60a @ 240v)
Deal Addict
Aug 12, 2007
4685 posts
830 upvotes
Waterloo
von Monster wrote: I have a welding receptacle (NEMA 6-30R) in my garage that I currently have a Dyna-Glo 4800w heater (NEMA 6-30P) plugged into, what I'm looking for for is an outlet timer box so I can have it run during off-peak hours.

The closest I've been able to find is the Intermatic HB114, but it uses a NEMA 15-20R/P. Being as I'm not an expert and have no idea what the supply houses carry I thought I'd check and see if anyone here knows if one exists.
can it be used with a Thermostat? just get a programmable thermostat.

If it cant, you can re-wire the internals to match the Bigger ones which Can be run on external thermostats.
----
Pay it forward.
Feb 27, 2007
667 posts
558 upvotes
It has a built-in thermostat, which I use to keep the garage at around 5 degrees. What I'm looking for is a plug timer so I can run it during off peak Hydro hours.
Feb 27, 2007
667 posts
558 upvotes
cliff wrote: I don't know if there's a plug in model, but you can get hardwired timers that are capable of controlling a hot tub (ex. 50-60a @ 240v)