Home & Garden

Does Scott's EZ Seed 3 in 1 product work for Canadian lawns?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 28th, 2020 3:31 pm
[OP]
Feb 24, 2020
7 posts

Does Scott's EZ Seed 3 in 1 product work for Canadian lawns?

Hello members,

I am a newbie to lawn care and live in Southern Ontario. I do have some bare spots in my front and backyard and I was thinking of using Scotts 3 in 1 EZ Seed mix to repair the spots. The product is not cheap and I would like to get your views on the product? Does it work? If not, are there any other good lawn repair products that I should consider?

Thanks.
13 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 26, 2019
2003 posts
1734 upvotes
GTA
I have not used scott's EZ seed on that many occasions, but every time I have used it, it has worked quite well.

I think when I did use it, I may have mixed some additional seed into the mix.

Regardless of what you do, your success will be directly correlated to your commitment to watering.
[OP]
Feb 24, 2020
7 posts
thanks a lot for your response. Yes, I agree and understand your point about watering which I will definitely take care of. I believe I have a clay type soil and there are some areas where grass just doesn't want to grow so I was looking at some options and got to know about the EZ seed 3 in 1 option. There were some mixed reviews online which confused me even more. I guess I'll give it a try and see how it goes.

Thanks once again.
Deal Guru
Feb 9, 2006
12918 posts
7676 upvotes
Brampton
Work? Absolutely.

Can you do better for less? Yes.

It depends on what kind of lawn you have. Full sun? Partial sun? What kind of Soil?

There's a lot of KBG in Scotts, which unless you have partial sun and water it a lot I find is not hardy enough for our GTA weather.

You'd better off with certain fescues.
[OP]
Feb 24, 2020
7 posts
Thank you for your response.

Well, 90% of my backyard is full sun and the rest is complete shade and my soil type is Coarse clay in my opinion.
Deal Fanatic
Aug 10, 2011
9565 posts
2182 upvotes