Home & Garden

Is this doorbell transformer setup safe?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 18th, 2020 10:36 am
[OP]
Aug 1, 2020
37 posts
7 upvotes
Whitby

Is this doorbell transformer setup safe?

I’m looking to install a video doorbell in my new house and it turns out I need to upgrade the transformer since the current one is too weak. So I found the location of the existing one and its just hanging off the wall beside a bulb (see pics). Now I’m new to this but even to me this looks crazy. No way could this be safe. I’ve bought the new transformer but any advice on how to go about the install? It has to be more than unplugging and plugging in this case I figure.
Images
  • 20201017_115446.jpg
  • 20201017_115500.jpg
  • 20201017_115523.jpg
11 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 2, 2012
3342 posts
2172 upvotes
KINGSTON,ON
Wow, that's a hot mess.
Typically door bell transformers are located on electrical service panels, then the low voltage wire is run to the button and the bell. The transformer is fixed onto the panel with a locking ring, and the 120V wiring is enclosed with the panel's cover. I can't tell from images where the 120V wires are attached in that rats nest. You could just mount a surface mounted box, then attach the transformer to that, but this really should be cleaned up .
If you don't know anything about wiring, hire an electrician.
Deal Addict
Feb 11, 2018
1193 posts
1020 upvotes
Janajda wrote: I’m looking to install a video doorbell in my new house and it turns out I need to upgrade the transformer since the current one is too weak. So I found the location of the existing one and its just hanging off the wall beside a bulb (see pics). Now I’m new to this but even to me this looks crazy. No way could this be safe. I’ve bought the new transformer but any advice on how to go about the install? It has to be more than unplugging and plugging in this case I figure.