• Last Updated:
  • Jul 22nd, 2009 2:48 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Sep 26, 2008
25 posts
Canada

Driving the US vehicle in Canada????

Hi, I am a permanent resident and driving the US vehicle in Canada. The vehicle is in finance and fully insured, therefore I cant import it up to I would be able to pay off my car. Last time when I was crossing the border, the Canadian customs guy made a huge deal why I am driving the car and why do I have the US dl. He said that I am going to have lots of trouble, but couldnt make it clear why I cant have the US dl or drive my car.Anyways he let me in. Usually I go to the states every third month or so, so I do no see why he was so upset on me. Any thoughts from Canadians would be highly appreciated, I just dont wanna mess up with the law.
53 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2003
15541 posts
979 upvotes
Niagara Falls
The BSO was correct. Technically it's illegal for a Canadian resident to drive a US plated and registered vehicle in Canada. At the border they can decide you are importing the vehicle (which you really are) and charge you all the applicable taxes, etc. We went through it driving a US plated rental into Canada. There are lots of specifics to the law so you're probably best to phone both the border and the go talk to your local MTO (Ministry of Transportation) office. If you're in Canada you should indeed have a valid Canadian license in your situation and are required to by law IIRC. You really should be trying to refinance in Canada and import the car legally to be in compliance.
Thinking seriously about the 4 S's...Sun, Sand, Surf and ... Booked for Sept in Mexico and booked Samana DR for Jan!
Dec 26, 2006
117 posts
2 upvotes
If you are working in the US with a US work visa, when you cross the border into Canada the officer just lets you go through without any hassles on the US car plate and US driver license.