• Jul 8th, 2020 8:25 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Nov 30, 2017
293 posts
197 upvotes

Earning Credit Card Points for Travel - Please Comment on My Action Plan

I’m new to churning but not very active, so I want to seek your advice.

When travel is permitted again, I want to bring my parents and wife to Vancouver and Europe on points. Partially because those are places they always wanted to go, partially because I am also trying to get my wife on board to the credit card game. My wife is not very convinced right now, so I hope she will be converted after taking her around with hotel and flights mostly paid for with points.

I have applied for the Amex Platinum and RBC Avion and received the sign up bonus for the first time recently. I had the TD aeroplan VI last year so I have some aeroplan miles, just product switched to cash back since FYF is up.

With the expected devaluation of aeroplan, I will be using all the MR for statement credit during the double double event instead of transferring to Aeroplan, then churn on other Amex and possibly US credit cards with Amex international transfer.

As for my Avion, I’ll convert the points to Avios when a bonus event come up. I’ll also get the HSBC world elite for their 3% on travel expenses. Do you think that’s the best plan or would you have other suggestions?

Is there anything else I can do to get hotel points beside getting the Amex Hilton Aspire card? Thank you in advance everyone!
27 replies
Deal Expert
May 8, 2009
15531 posts
14043 upvotes
Going to the Moon
RichardMan wrote: I’m new to churning but not very active, so I want to seek your advice.