• Last Updated:
  • Oct 22nd, 2019 8:54 pm
[OP]
Mar 20, 2018
180 posts
112 upvotes

Economics of buying a condo outside of the GTA

Hi everyone,

I am writing because I would like to hear everyone’s opinions on the following issue. It’s going to be a long post, so please bear with me.

First off, a few words about myself. I am a young professional living in the KW (Kitchener-Waterloo) area. My income is close to 100k (base), no debt, and I am saving to increase my net worth. My SO is a student. They have 27k in student debt and most of the money to pay it off, just delaying it for now because it is not necessary (so that inflation can eat up a part of that debt). We are renting. I was thinking of entering the real estate market only after I build a robust stock/bond portfolio (which is happening) and only if I find a good investment opportunity, i.e., I didn’t plan to buy because I need to live somewhere, rent is paying someone’s mortgage, blah blah blah.

Not so long ago we decided to change our rental place with the intention of getting something better (although we can continue stay where we are now). Not only the rent went up significantly but also the competition increased. I was kind of surprised. Quite a few landlords told me that I had to hurry to secure their place because they have 5-8 groups coming to see it. Seems like that wasn’t just a cheap salesman tactics, the properties were actually rented as the ads were brought down quickly.

Long story made short, that made me think about entering the real estate market sooner that I planned and buying a condo in the KW/Cambridge/Guelph. I plan on keeping the condo as an investment property later on. My rationales for that are as follows:

1) The area has two universities and has a strong tech/financial job scene;
2) Recent improvements in infrastructure (LRT);
3) Projected population growth;
4) Proximity to the GTA;
5) Recent measures of the Liberal federal government to “improve” housing affordability.