Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 30th, 2020 11:14 pm
May 23, 2013
6 posts
Hello,
I hope someone can help me with my questions.
I am an occasional teacher and I also work at a part time grocery store. I have been collecting EI benefits to supplement the lack of hours. I requested a leave of absence for one month from my grocery store job so that I could take an Additional Qualifications course (for teaching) out of town. I was denied the leave. I was told by HR that they couldn't give me the leave because I was taking a course to better my chances of getting a job somewhere else. My collective agreement states that any part time employee may ask for a leave of absence for educational purposes if registered at a college or university out of town. When I explained this to HR they gave me the run-around saying that the agreement had grey areas, and I was not a full time student, and again, that I was bettering my chances of getting a job with the school board. Which is OBVIOUSLY my ultimate goal! She then told me that they already have their maximum allowances of leaves for education purposes.
I would still like to take this course, being that I have already paid for it and it will help me obtain full time employment in the future (I do not currently have an offer). So with my leave denied, I would need to voluntarily quit, and therefore, lose my entitlement for EI benefits.
I contacted my old employer from years back (another grocery store) who said they will hire me back upon return of my course. I will still be working part time and be available for teaching calls as well.