Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 29th, 2023 6:47 am
Mar 18, 2015
6 posts
Westmount, QC
Hi, this is my first time applying for ei regular benefits. My contract at the place I work expired and I don't want to work back at that place as I am overqualified for it and I had to work through manpower to work at that place. So instead of 24 an hour I was getting 17 because of manpower's cut..

Upon applying for the first time for ei and jobsearching again, I got a call from ei and they want me to seek employment through manpower again. Don't I have the right to refuse for seeking employment in manpower? Since I don't want to deal with the pointless wage cuts and useless support from manpower. For example, manpower employees were treated like feces Where I just finished my contract with and manpower didn't even help resolve the issue. The list goes on. I have a diploma in mechanical engineering if that helps you possibly help more effectively.

If I use linked in, indeed, Craigslist and monster to find jobs, don't I have the right to refuse service Canada's request of me having to ask manpower for employment as I have a lot of bad experiences with them through that last job. I'd honestly rather not get ei at all in that case.. Please help resolve this issue.

I greatly appreciate any advice and solution.(I am in Canada, BC. If that helps to know)

Best regards.
Deal Guru
Nov 21, 2011
10749 posts
4007 upvotes
Niteserpent wrote: Hi, this is my first time applying for ei regular benefits. My contract at the place I work expired and I don't want to work back at that place as I am overqualified for it and I had to work through manpower to work at that place. So instead of 24 an hour I was getting 17 because of manpower's cut..