Home & Garden

electric/cordless vs. gas lawnmower for seniors....

• Last Updated:
  • May 12th, 2021 10:43 am
[OP]
Apr 22, 2014
113 posts
9 upvotes
Woodbridge

electric/cordless vs. gas lawnmower for seniors....

Hi all,

Our friend is a senior in his 70's and still active however, i tested his gas Cub Cadet self propelled lawn mower and it's heavy as heck (the self-propel does NOT work anymore).

He is thinking of a electric/cordless lawnmower however I have no experience with them and am not sure if they are heavy due to battery components, can anyone with who has experience with both gas and electric comment?.......and a quick search on Home Depot's site shows the cheapest ones are around $400.

I think $400-$450 is his budget but that would be still on the expensive side for him.

Thanks all!
23 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 30, 2004
2379 posts
1110 upvotes
Edmonton
How big a yard? Flat? Easy access to plug ins? How long does he expect to stay?
The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten....
Deal Fanatic
Oct 19, 2008
6883 posts
2446 upvotes
GTA
liveclean wrote: i tested his gas Cub Cadet self propelled lawn mower and it's heavy as heck (the self-propel does NOT work anymore).
Have a look at a few you tube vids, its often simply the cable needing tightening or debris in belt area so belt is off. The cable is tightened like a brake on a bike, turn the nut out at the handle.
[OP]
Apr 22, 2014
113 posts
9 upvotes
Woodbridge
walleye*guy wrote: How big a yard? Flat? Easy access to plug ins? How long does he expect to stay?
I think front yard is about 500 sq ft. and his backyard is about 650 sq ft.

He does have access to plug ins, however he wants to stay away from cords........only asked me about cordless (he can put it in the garage to charge).

They will be staying at the house for another 10 years at least?
[OP]
Apr 22, 2014
113 posts
9 upvotes
Woodbridge