• Last Updated:
  • Mar 6th, 2017 1:00 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 24, 2008
1144 posts
702 upvotes

Electric Dryer troubleshooting - I'm stumped

Our house has a whirlpool washer and dryer unit, I'm assuming these are probably around 15 or so years old now.

Yesterday our dryer stopped working. When the start button was pushed, nothing would happen.. but it wasnt long before I could smell something. I looked at the back and could see all the coils were on so I immediately unplugged the dryer.

I tried googling the issue without much luck. Most common fix seems to be a belt, but I couldnt hear anything when the dryer was turned on (im assuming I'd hear a motor). Also when I tried turning the drum by hand there seemed to be some resistance (I read this was a quick way to check the belt), which hints to me that the belt is still connected to the motor - I'm going to try pulling the top off later to confirm.

Anything else I should check? I'm a noob when it comes to appliances. I don't really want to call someone in as it appears dryers are pretty affordable brand new, vs spending a couple hundred on someone fixing our old one. If the motor is cooked then would it still allow the coils to heat up? That seems like a bit of a hazard...

model YLEQ5000KQ1
29 replies
Deal Fanatic
May 1, 2012
9870 posts
9546 upvotes
Markham
Motor or belt or both are shot, basically the drive is shot somewhere. If you call a guy they'll charge you a diagnostic fee ($50) then whatever repairs he may do. It's not uncommon to be out $250 - $500, depending on part. If it's the drive, replacing that is not gonna be smart.

Protip, it's already old and at 15 years you had a great run. Just get a new one.
Mar 19, 2013
696 posts
209 upvotes
Prince Albert, Sask.
I agree with Anikiri. 15 years out of a dryer is awesome. I been down this road, you could be in for world of hurt to try and fix it, your wallet. At times you have to let go and move on. It has served you well.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 24, 2008