• Jan 19th, 2022 10:33 am
[OP]
Jun 21, 2018
204 posts
102 upvotes
Ottawa, Ontario

Electrical wiring through insulated attic

Hello guys,

I'm trying to add a single pot light to existing light fixture. I've never done this before. I've looked in the internet and figured out that I need to wire toward the rafters along the side of the joist and go through joists (drill in the middle). Please correct me if I'm wrong.

One question I wanted to add is, should I put wire through plastic barrier? or there special way of handling it. Check the photos please.

Sorry for dummy question and thanks for your support.
Josh
Images
  • 20220118_105113_resized.jpg
  • 20220118_104423_resized (1).jpg
19 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jun 21, 2003
5316 posts
2555 upvotes
Stoney Creek, ON
You are correct that you need to run along the sides/through drill holes as opposed to running on the top face where they can be stepped on.

I would push the cable through the vapour barrier and then use some tuck tape around the opening to keep it as sealed as possible.
[OP]
Jun 21, 2018
204 posts
102 upvotes
Ottawa, Ontario
ChicoQuente wrote: You are correct that you need to run along the sides/through drill holes as opposed to running on the top face where they can be stepped on.

I would push the cable through the vapour barrier and then use some tuck tape around the opening to keep it as sealed as possible.
Thanks. I can not wire straight, right? I should go towards rafters and then wire through?
Deal Fanatic
Jun 21, 2003
5316 posts
2555 upvotes
Stoney Creek, ON
vahk33 wrote: Thanks. I can not wire straight, right? I should go towards rafters and then wire through?
I don’t understand what you mean.

If you mean laying the wire loose from light to light then no you can not do that. If you’re running along the side of the rafter you need S1 staples to support the cable. If you’re running perpendicular (through drill holes) those count as support instead of staples.
[OP]
Jun 21, 2018
204 posts
102 upvotes