None
[OP]
Apr 20, 2011
317 posts
46 upvotes
Toronto

ELI5: Re-Financing

I need to understand how does it work.

I got a condo which was $270K, I have been paying its mortgage for almost 5 years and now the mortgage is down to $240K. The current condo price is around $310. I have few debet's which are driving me crazy. Even though I am able to handle them with my salary but any unexpected expenses would be unmanageable for me. So thats why i was thinking to do a refinance, get the debt pay off and will see how it goes from there.

But what someone told me that in case of refinance i will be putting down 20% towards condo downpayment. If this is the case, then I will be barely left with $1000 - $3000 which are nothing for my debts.

Can someone explain re-financing to me?

Thanks
3 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 1, 2015
1967 posts
919 upvotes
Etobicoke, ON
How did you determine that $310k value? Comparables in the same building? Recent units sold? Municipal assessment? The lender would do an appraisal to determine the current value, and you can refinance up to 80% of that value. So your logic is correct, but you need to make sure you are using the correct property value in your calculations.
Andre Oliveira - Mortgage Agent at Valuemortgage
2018 Top 20 National - Mortgage Intelligence
FSCO # 10428
Deal Addict
Dec 12, 2006
4340 posts
559 upvotes
Messed Up Area
The key to the refinance is the lenders appraisal. You can refinance 80% the appraisal.

As well with refinance you are looking at lawyers fee ( $800ish ) + appraisal fee ($3-400 ) + penalty breaking current mortgage ( dependant on terms and length but if your 5 years in maybe ok )

So lets say you owe 20 k debt, your condo would need to be appraised at 325k ( 80% = 260k = 240k owed + 20 k debt )

With rates now at low rates, from 5 years ago, refinancing without your debt may save you 100's which could go towards debt monthly.