Careers

Employer requiring my SIN number

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 14th, 2019 7:07 am
Jan 10, 2019
2 posts

Employer requiring my SIN number

I am an international student with a vaid study permit which let me work up to 20 hours per week and my intentions are to apply for the PR after my graduation. Recently I started to work for a worker recruiter agency for occasional job. After my first day of job, I was required to give my SIN number and copy of passport in order to receive my first cheque. I have not received any written contract and I realized that several illegal workers were working for this same agency. I am concerned to give my SIN and ID, as they could use them for register other illegal immigrants and at the end, it could seem that I worked more than 20 hours per week during my stay in Canada, what should I do? My employer told me that if I dont provide him with this information my payment won´t be processed and I really need the money.

Thank you
6 replies
Deal Guru
Mar 23, 2008
13006 posts
10009 upvotes
Edmonton
The whole point to your SIN (just FYI, SIN = Social Insurance Number, so “SIN number” is redundant) is so the government can keep track of payments to/from your “account”. Your employer needs that to make the appropriate deductions and remittance on your behalf. So yeah, you need to provide that.

Don’t know about your passport, but I suspect they need a copy for your proof of employment status. If you’re concerned about anything funky going on, make sure you keep all your pay stubs as proof of how much you worked. Any extra time worked will show up when you file your taxes as extra income (that you never received) , so it should be relatively easy to catch.